Northern New York Newspapers
NNY Business
NNY Living
Mon., Sep. 22
Serving the community of Ogdensburg, New York
Related Stories

Romney, Obama pick delegates

print this article
e-mail this article

President Obama and former Massachusetts Gov. Mitt Romney are the only candidates in New York's April 24 presidential primary to have available for public consumption a slate of delegates for the respective conventions of their parties.
Mr. Obama is not facing a primary challenge on the Democratic side. The early September convention in Charlotte, N.C. will be more of a coronation.
Mr. Romney, though, is in the middle of a delegate war in his effort to claim the GOP nomination, which will take place in Florida in late August. (Here is a nifty graphic that will show you how many delegates the GOP candidates have amassed.)
On the Republican side, New York's new proportional method of doling out delegates, and the neck-and-neck battle, could mean that candidates will campaign in New York. We'll see if they make it north of the Thruway. I'll bet you $10,000 that they won't.
Here is the list of delegates from the 23rd Congressional District:
Obama delegates:
Mark Bellardini, the St. Lawrence County Democratic chairman.
Judy Prosser.
Edmund Jasewicz, an Amsterdam resident who has served as a Dem delegate a few times.
Jacquelyn A. Schell, a Chaumont resident whose husband, Mike Schell, is an avowed political tourist and former Eliot Spitzer/David Paterson staffer. (Mrs. Schell, of course, is well known in her own right, having served on the Watertown City School District Board of Education.)
Michael Zagrobelny, a Potsdam town councilman (the Board of Elections listing appears to have spelled his name wrong, unless there's a Michael Zagrokelny AND a Michael Zagrobelny, which I'm also willing to put $10,000 against.)
Colleen Wheaton, South Colton, who has done some Dem delegate work and is a CSEA official.
Michael Cashman.
Romney delegates
Assemblyman Will Barclay, R-Pulaski.
Mary C. Hollinshead
Alternative delegates are Don Coon, Jefferson County GOP chairman, and Don Lee, Clinton County GOP chairman.

Connect with Us
OGD on FacebookOGD on Twitter
Thursday 's Covers